Where I’m Going: The Next Marathon, Amidst Mommyhood

I ran my first marathon in Disney World in 2011. Almost two years later to the day I had a son and became a mom. He is dozing in a bouncer next to me as I write, my two month old   life changer– and it is for him, and myself, that I am ready to reclaim my running life to take on another marathon.

From an outsider’s perspective, I wonder if it will seem counter-intuitive that I am running a marathon for my son. I wonder if someone will question the amount of time I will seemingly be “taking away” from him in order to train, wondering how in the end that is good for him. And this misconception, I believe, is the trap many women– especially moms– fall into. We spend so much time taking care of everyone else, putting other’s needs in front of our own, that we let our own needs go by the wayside. I personally ascribe to the “airplane rule” of parenting: you have to put on your own oxygen mask first before assisting others in putting on theirs– as counterintuitive as that may seem. For me, in my life, that oxygen mask is actually a pair of running sneakers. Running makes me calmer, makes me feel more in control; running gives me an outlet for stress, a reason to be healthier all around. Running is a defining aspect of who I am- one of the ways I see my life reflected back at me, without which I would feel lost. These are all reasons I truly believe running will ultimately make me a better mom– and in training for my next marathon, I expect to accept that as the next great truth of my life. I’ll be posting on this blog about the reclamation of my running life– writing about running, rearing a child, and likely some randomness (as you can see, you can expect some alliteration!)

I launch this blog for a few reasons:

  • Writing is a form of accountability: I don’t expect marathon training amidst motherhood to be easy- but publicizing my efforts should reinforce my commitment.
  • Moments can be captured: moments of an aspiring marathoner and new mom, so that I can always look back on ordinary days that might otherwise be forgotten.
  • A blog offers community: I hope to reach other runners- moms or not- and use this as a platform for a dialogue amongst us.

And so it begins…the road (back) to 26.2!

One thought on “Where I’m Going: The Next Marathon, Amidst Mommyhood

Leave a Reply

